Cooking Chinese

So, I finally made (what I would consider) a successful Chinese dish. I have often tried to make a Potato and Green Pepper fried dish, but only based on similar dishes I’d only eaten. So I finally got a Chinese gal to tell me how to make it, and it turned out pretty good. Here’s a picture of my lunch today, already half-eaten, so not looking quite as good as originally:

土豆炒青椒 (Potatoes fried with Green Peppers)

Here’s how to make it:

土豆炒青椒 (Potatoes fried with Green Peppers):

First, cut potatoes, slightly spicy green peppers (青椒), and fat, green onions/scallions (葱) into thin strips (thinner than french fries even) or into thin chips, but leave everything separate.

Then heat oil in a wok/pan until hot, add onions (I also added a few chopped cloves of garlic), and then potatoes. Cook over high flame, stirring constantly, until potatoes are nearing completion (you may need to add a little water, but not much). When potatoes are almost cooked enough to eat, add the peppers, and then some salt and any other spices you think would enhance the flavor. You may also need to add a little bit of water during this time (no water is fine, but may be a little dry). Be careful not to over-cook, turn off flame when done. Eat with rice, noodles, bread, or plain.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to Cooking Chinese

  1. Laura says:

    This looks delicious. Thanks for the recipe. We will try it.

Leave a comment