Hot and Muggy (and “on fire”)

I’m making my way back to the States, so Saturday I took the train from west to east China. I went to bed (on the train) to a beautiful sunset, clear skies spotted with clouds, and no haze, and woke up to endless smog, mugginess, and not even a sunrise. It’s about 95 degrees here, 95% humidity, and 95% pollution. Fortunately I’ll only be here a few days, and then back to (even hotter?) North Carolina.

In other news, I got my first facial yesterday, but in all fairness, I didn’t know what I getting myself into. A good Chinese friend invited me and a Swiss guy to go to some place he wouldn’t say. So we get there, and it turns out to be a fancy beauty parlor of sort, with massages and facials. Because he hadn’t called ahead of time, they didn’t want to do any massages, so we just got facials. This included a basic shoulder and back massage, a neck massage, a face massage, and some creams on the face, and concluded with a face plaster made of green sea weed mud. It was actually quite nice, especially after more than 24 hours of traveling.

I also found out from the therapist that I am 上火了 (shang huo le), which literal means “on fire,” but in Chinese medicine has something to do with an internal yin-yang imbalance (I think). The funny thing is, I woke up with a slight sore throat this morning, so I think she was actually on to something, probably my body is having a hard time adjusting to the very different climate here (humidity, altitude, temperature, and pollution differences.)

About josiahtravels

I am a college-age business student who loves going places and doing things. Hopefully this blog will capture something of the love for the life I've been given by an overflowing Creator.
This entry was posted in Culture, Life. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

